Sound Struggles and Compromises

I’ve had a couple struggles in making sounds in Ableton so far:

I’m looping a 10 measure drum track (recorded into Ableton using a Korg WaveDrum) in part two of my composition, but if I just loop it, then it clips the end of the sound at the end of the loop and sounds really choppy. In order to make it smooth, I have copied the track, and I alternate between them (triggering one to start at the end of the 10th measure, and the other to stop at the end of the 11th measure). It’s not the most refined way, and I’m sure there’s something better, but this works and I don’t have time for optimization at this point.

I don’t know of a way to get the voice/electronic glissando to work as I want it, but I can monitor the voice input with a tuner in Ableton, and trigger a track with an electronic glissando that enters on a certain pitch. It’s a fairly clumsy solution, but it should be good enough for a demo/workshop session. What I would like to do, is sample the performers voice, stretch out the duration without altering pitch, and add a dramatic glissando to the stretched sample in real time. I don’t think that’s possible with the equipment I have, so I’m using my clumsy little compromise.


So many learning experiences!!

Leave a comment