Composition Brain Goop #4

General Thoughts

This is it, the last section of a first pass at ideas for this piece! I will eventually come up with a name, but for now I’m just going with whatever ideas come to mind; like gathering materials at hand before figuring out how to use them. Given the vast possibilities with electronics, I wanted to get a head start on composition ideas to keep me on track while I learn about the tools I get to use, because endless possibilities can make creativity very difficult and full of distractions. As usual, this is a continuation of my last post: Composition Brain Goop #3. So, I suggest you get caught up in my messy thought process if you want this to make much sense, as it would be quite uninteresting for me to repeat everything in every post. I think my next round of posts will have detail about pitches and rhythms for the vocal part. Then, maybe I’ll have some sound clips of the electronics for the third pass at things.

This section will tie in elements of previous sections, like a reference to symphonies (that could be interpreted as the sounds around us, or, in a more introspective context, it could refer to the thoughts and energies of the lives around us), the folk-like lilting rhythm in a drum beat to give a grounding sense of finality, and the plea to choose love.

More Goopiness

If you didn’t read the first Composition Brain Goop post, you totally should go read it right now, otherwise, here’s a general overview of how I’ll be notating my piece below for brainstorming and documenting my process/progress:

Lyrics will be notated in regular text. Comments will be in brackets. Electronic idea descriptions will be italicized. Electronic trigger actions will be boldR for tilting the head right, L for tilting the head left, F for tilting the head forward, and B for tilting the head back. After each tilt, it is assumed that the head be brought back to center.


[Here’s the end of the last section to get an idea of where we’re at.]

B Looking up again, as if to some higher power as sounds shift and morph into the next section.

[The performer’s head will stay tilted back, and the trigger for this section will happen when they put their head back to center.]

I am [Ascending pitch, making it sound unsure.]

I am [Still ascending, but with a more assertive tone.]

I am a symphony [‘I am’ becomes a downward interval to sound like a statement rather than a question.]

You may [Ascending again.]

You may not like me. [Similar line shape to ‘I am a symphony’.]

But I don’t [Ascending again.]

I don’t need you to like me to [Somewhat rushed, as if excitedly remembering lost confidence.]

Love my-self.

R trigger the drums, and possibly other atmospheric changes?

[More spoken and rhythmic than lyrical now.]

I am broken, imperfect,

And I am diff’rent from you.

I think about this ev’ry day.

I struggle, and break down.

I am often lost.

And that’s why I just want to say:

[Back to lyrical, and drums cut out.]

We’re in this together.

It’s okay to hurt.

Choose love over a-pa-thyyy.

You don’t have to please

Everyone on this Earth.

You be you, and I’ll be me.

We are,

We are the melodies

Of unfinished sym-pho-nies.

B trigger thunder from the first section, and all other sounds fade into the thunder crash. The piece ends with the performer looking up and the thunder fading to rain and wind, and eventually, silence. When silence is reached, the performer may relax and stand normally. If applause begins before silence is reached, return to normal and bow as usual.


There are many details to add; since this will be wrapping up the piece, I want to leave it fairly open to include any themes that may develop as I shape the previous sections. I have a fair bit of learning to finish for the electronic side of things, so stay tuned for a flood of posts about that in the next week! (Life has just been hectic, and I’ve been making an effort to find balance lately, which can make ambitious projects like this a little more difficult. I’m doing it though, on top of practicing clarinet and working in an office full-time; I’m slowly but surely getting through this amazing learning experience! With every day I get more interested in electronic music, so I’m excited to see where this takes me.)

Life may throw some stuff at you, but you can do it!

Leave a comment